Meet the team

Faculty & Technical Staff

Moumita Aich

Research Scientist
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
moumita.aich@gmail.com

Tzu-Ching Chang

Research staff
NASA JPL

Contact Details

Email:
tzu-ching.chang@jpl.nasa.gov

Dirk De Villiers

Stellenbosch University

Contact Details

Email:
ddv@sun.ac.za

Neeraj Gupta

IUCAA

Contact Details

Email:
ngupta@iucaa.in

Roy Maartens

University of the Western Cape

Contact Details

Email:
rmaartens@uwc.ac.za

Laura Newburgh

Yale University

Contact Details

Email:
laura.newburgh@yale.edu

Alexandre Refregier

ETH-Zurich

Contact Details

Email:
alexandre.refregier@phys.ethz.ch

Kendrick Smith

Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics

Contact Details

Email:
kmsmith@perimeterinstitute.ca

Keith Vanderlinde

University of Toronto

Contact Details

Email:
vanderlinde@dunlap.utoronto.ca

Adam Amara

ETH-Zurich

Contact Details

Email:
adam.amara@phys.ethz.ch

H. Cynthia Chiang

McGill University & University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
hsin.chiang@mcgill.ca

Jacbous Diener

BIUST

Contact Details

Email:
dienerj@biust.ac.bw

Matt Hilton

University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
hiltonm@ukzn.ac.za

Stuart MacPherson

Durban University of Technology

Contact Details

Email:
stuartm@dut.ac.za

Prince Osei

AIMS Ghana, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, Quantum Leap Africa

Prince Osei

AIMS Ghana, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, Quantum Leap Africa

Ian Howard Rout

Infrastructure Project Manager
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
amvpm@mweb.co.za

Raghunathan Srianand

IUCAA

Contact Details

Email:
anand@iucaa.in

Amanda Weltman

University of Cape Town

Contact Details

Email:
amanda.weltman@uct.ac.za

Kevin Bandura

West Virginia University

Contact Details

Email:
kevin.bandura@mail.wvu.edu

Jean-Francois Cliche

E. Engineer
McGill University

Contact Details

Email:
Jean-Francois.Malouin@
bic.mni.mcgill.ca

Matt Dobbs

McGill University

Contact Details

Email:
matt.dobbs@mcgill.ca

Aris Karastergiou

University of Oxford

Contact Details

Email:
Aris.Karastergiou@physics.ox.ac.uk

Sphesihle Makhathini

Rhodes University & SARAO

Contact Details

Email:
sphemakh@gmail.com ​

Jeffrey Peterson

Carnegie Mellon University

Jeffrey Peterson

Carnegie Mellon University

Mario Santos

University of the Western Cape

Contact Details

Email:
mgrsantos@uwc.ac.za

Pieter Stronkhorst

Hartebeesthoek Radio Astronomy Observatory

Contact Details

Email:
ludwig@hartrao.ac.za

Patrick Woudt

University of Cape Town

Contact Details

Email:
Patrick.Woudt@uct.ac.za

Bruce Bassett

AIMS/SARAO/SAAO/UCT

Contact Details

Email:
bruce.bassett@uct.ac.za

Carolyn Crichton

Project Manager
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
carolyn.m.crichton@gmail.com

Ken Ganga

Université Paris Diderot - Paris 7

Contact Details

Email:
ganga@apc.univ-paris7.fr

Jean-Paul Kneib

EPFL

Contact Details

Email:
jean-paul.kneib@epfl.ch

Kavilan Moodley

PI
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
moodleyk41@ukzn.ac.za

Aritha Pillay

Durban University of Technology

Contact Details

Email:
arithap@dut.ac.za

Jonathan Sievers

Co-PI
McGill University & University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
jonathan.sievers@gmail.com

Russ Taylor

Universities of Cape Town & Western Cape

Contact Details

Email:
russ@idia.ac.za

Thierry Zufferey

ETH Zurich

Contact Details

Email:
thierryz@eeh.ee.ethz.ch

Martin Bucher

Université Paris Diderot - Paris 7

Contact Details

Email:
bucher@apc.univ-paris7.fr

Romeel Dave

University of Edinburgh & University of the Western Cape

Contact Details

Email:
rad@roe.ac.uk

Adam Gilbert

E. Engineer
McGill University

Contact Details

Email:
adam.gilbert@mcgill.ca

Martin Kunz

University of Geneva

Contact Details

Email:
martin.kunz@unige.ch

Peter William Morris

Senior Technician
Durban University of Technology

Contact Details

Email:
peterm@dut.ac.za

Andre Recnik

Computing Specialist
University of Toronto

Contact Details

Email:
recnik@dunlap.utoronto.ca

Oleg Smirnov

Rhodes University & SARAO

Contact Details

Email:
o.smirnov@ru.ac.za

Peter Timbie

University of Wisconsin

Contact Details

Email:
pttimbie@wisc.edu

Support Staff

Vuyelwa Dlulane

Principal Accounting Officer

Contact Details

Email:
amvpm@mweb.co.za

Malishca Perumal

Intern

Contact Details

Email:
perumalm@ukzn.ac.za

Strini Rajgopaul

Outreach & Student Enquiries

Contact Details

Email:
rajgopaul@ukzn.ac.za

Postdoctoral Fellows

Carlos Bengaly

University of Geneva

Contact Details

Email:
Carlos.PaesBengalyJunior
@unige.ch

Kenda Knowles

University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
kendaknowles.astro@gmail.com

Jingying Wang

University of the Western Cape

Jingying Wang

University of the Western Cape

Philippe Berger

NASA JPL / Caltech

Philippe Berger

NASA JPL/Caltech

Benjamin Saliwanchik

Yale University

Contact Details

Email:
benjamin.saliwanchik@yale.edu

Dallas Wulf

McGill University

Contact Details:

Email:
dallas.wulf@mail.mcgill.ca

Devin Crichton

University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
devin.crichton@gmail.com

Richard Shaw

University of British Columbia

Contact Details

Email:
richard@phas.ubc.ca

Aaron M. Ewall-Wice

NASA JPL

Contact Details

Email:
Aaron.m.ewall-wice@jpl.nasa.gov

Kshitij Thorat

Rhodes University & SARAO

Contact Details

Email:
thorat.k@gmail.com

Heiko Heilgendorff

University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email: <
heiko.heilgendorff@gmail.com

Anthony Walters

University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email: wltrs.tony@gmail.com

Students

Scott Eyono

MSc Student
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
215000080@stu.ukzn.ac.za

Zahra Kader

MSc Student
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
zahrakader@gmail.com

Warren Naidoo

MSc Student
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
214580602@stu.ukzn.ac.za

Carla Pieterse

MSc Student
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Carla Pieterse

MSc Student
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Veruschka Simes

Student Assistant
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
veruschkasimes@gmail.com

Amadeus Witzemann

PhD Student
University of the Western Cape

Amadeus Witzemann

PhD Student
University of the Western Cape

Kevin Gayley

Honors Student University of Wisconsin

Contact Details

Email:

Kabelo Kesebonye

PhD Student
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
kablokes@rocketmail.com

Viraj Nistane

PhD student University of Geneva

Contact Details

Email:
viraj.nistane@unige.ch

Emma Platts

PhD Student
University of Cape Town

Emma Platts

PhD Student
University of Cape Town

Vuyile Sixaba

PhD Student
University of the Western Cape

Vuyile Sixaba

PhD Student
University of the Western Cape

Austin Gumba

MSc Student
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
acro.austin@yahoo.com

Emily Kuhn

PhD Student
Yale University

Emily Kuhn

PhD Student
Yale University

Deniz Olcek

PhD Student
McGill University

Deniz Olcek

PhD Student
McGill University

Cyndie Russeawon

MSc student
Rhodes University

Cyndie Russeawon

MSc student
Rhodes University

Ulrich Mbou Sob

PhD Student
Rhodes University

Ulrich Mbou Sob

PhD Student
Rhodes University

Mona Jalilvand

PhD Student
University of Geneva

Contact Details

Email:
mona.jalilvand@unige.ch

Vincent MacKay

PhD Student
University of Toronto

Vincent MacKay

PhD Student
University of Toronto

Ivan Padilla

PhD Student
University of Toronto

Ivan Padilla

PhD Student
University of Toronto

Onkabetse Sengate

PhD Student
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
leoonkz@yahoo.com

Dalian Sunder

MSc Student
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
dalesunder@gmail.com

Sheean Jolicoeur

PhD Student
University of the Western Cape

Sheean Jolicoeur

PhD Student
University of the Western Cape

Mthokozisi Mdlalose

PhD Student
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
nyandam21@gmail.com

Juan Mena Parra

PhD Student
McGill University

Juan Mena Parra

PhD Student
McGill University

Sinenhlanhla Sikhosana

PhD Student
University of KwaZulu-Natal

Contact Details

Email:
sneprec@gmail.com

Aurelien Verdier

MSc Student
EPFL

Contact Details

Email:
aurelien.verdier@epfl.ch